TIRED.

A few friends have mentioned that one of the things they don’t understand is how I’m able to fit everything I do into my schedule. Triathlon training is very demanding, so how do I work, train, and still spend time with my wife. The answer: it’s really tiring. Take today, for example:

5:30am: wake

5:45am: coffee, applesauce, peanut butter

6:00am: poop. Pull on Speedos and sweatpants, grab gym bag, wetsuit, run gear, wallet, phone, water, whey shake, and $2 in quarters all set out the night before.

6:15am: sit in 405 traffic pondering wisdom of ocean swim.

6:25am: arrive at Ocean Park and Barnard Way. Pull on wetsuit, feed parking machine, grab goggles, earplugs, cap, run to beach to catch rest of LA Tri Club swimmers.

6:30am: realize I left my watch in the car. Leave it behind.

6:30am-7:30am: huge swells, nasty current, crazy waves make 3 laps last an hour. At one point the lead guys come towards me from the sand and say, “you OK?” I wonder why – then I see I’m coming back into shore at the entry point, thus adding an extra 50 yards to my swim length. Argh.

7:30am-7:40am: shower, remove wetsuit, struggle with wetsuit, wonder how I’m going to remove wetsuit during competition, keep struggling with wetsuit, finally remove wetsuit, walk to parking lot wearing nothing but banana hammock and tattoos. Change into run gear using car trunk.

7:40am-8:20am: 4 mile run to Venice Pier and back. Listen to Skeptic’s Guide to the Universe.

8:20am-8:30am: stretched. Talked to LA Tri Clubber Damon, who let me feel like I was not a poseur and could talk about things with a little knowledge. Damon was super friendly earlier at the swim, when he saw me holding off going back in after going into shore the long way. He offered to go out with me for the next loop. Damon is awesome. Going to club events is totally worth getting up early.

8:25am: call a friend who lives in the area who is moving to upstate New York to say goodbye. She asks for coffee, giving her time to get dressed.

8:30am-8:45am: Starbucks.

8:45am-10:00am: spend quality time with friend talking about organic food, healthy living, and how hard it will be finding California lifestyle habits in the boonies of New York.

10:00am-10:20am: drive home.

10:20am-10:40am: clean wetsuit, shower, change into real clothes.

10:40am: realize I am now going to be late for my 11am client in Burbank as it is 25 miles away in the worst freeway direction. Grab snacks for afternoon.

10:40am-11:20am: drive to Burbank. Call my sales rep at PC Connection to line up client orders for products.

11:20am-11:45am: Burbank client appt. 

11:45am-12:15pm: drive from Burbank to Mt. Washington, about 11 miles.

12:15pm-12:30pm: grab lunch at the Burbank grocery store. Three bean salad, sliced roast beef, roast summer squash. $5.50

12:15pm-1:15pm: Mt. Washington client appointment.

1:15pm-2:00pm: drive from Mt. Washington to Hollywood Hills for third appt. 

2:00pm-5:30pm: Hollywood Hills appt. 3pm Snack. Have to leave before all updates are installed because I have to get home to feed dogs and we have dinner plans with friends.

5:30pm-6:15pm: drive from Hollywood Hills to home in rush hour traffic. Sucks.

6:15pm-6:45pm: home. Walk in door and whip up whey protein shake with berries and peanut butter. Tastes fucking awesome.

6:45pm-7:00pm: drive to Santa Monica friend’s house.

7:00pm-11:00pm: visit with friends. Are fed by friend who is professional chef. Dinner rocks. Company is even better. Realize I’m yawning a LOT at 10pm. We keep talking. We have a big ol’ love-fest over their baby and Barack Obama.

11:00pm-11:15pm: drive home.

11:15pm-11:30pm: blog my ridiculous day.

Still have to walk dogs for 1/2 hour before bed. Kitchen still needs cleaning from last night. Contacts are starting to stick to my eyeballs. And tomorrow I’ll be up at 7am because it’s my last bike ride for four days.

This is my life. And I don’t even have kids.

Notes: 3 laps ocean swim, normally 250 yards per lap. Today more like 300 yards – lots of wasted effort. 4 mile run after. 

One response to “TIRED.

  1. Kids change your schedule, it is true. This morning my son woke me up at 5:45 because he wanted to play video games on his laptop with me before I went to work.

Leave a Reply

