Santa Monica’s home for wayward swimmers.

A strange morning swim today as Konrad, leader of the speed circuit, was absent for the first time. The club got under way at 6:30am, right on time, but once in the water it became a very different story. People spread all over the route, and with large swells putting the buoy out of sight for minutes at a time, I found myself zigzagging all over the map. Couldn’t follow a cap in front of me – they were way off. Sighting was fun, until I discovered I was sighting the wrong damn lifeguard tower. Instead of getting frustrated I indulged my current obsession with triathlon bikes and fantasized about what kind of bike I want.

We just paid $700 each in airfare to a friend’s wedding in Sante Fe, NM. We’re flying to Seattle this weekend for another wedding, to the tune of more than a grand in air fare, hotel, and rental car. 2008 is shaping up to be a banner year in hemorrhaging money, so it’s a good thing my clients keep calling with crisis. I hate to say it, but the more defective software and hardware gets deployed the better my bills get paid. iPhone 2.0 has been very good for business. 

It does, however, completely screw with my nutrition plan. I have been isolated in some very nice houses with only my fruit bars and almonds to keep me nourished. Today, for example, I was in Beverly Hills from 10:30am until 5pm with no real food. Missed lunch by miles. Sure, they were billable hours, but at a certain point salted nuts and fruit bars don’t work. I ate a full breakfast after my ocean swim at 10am and then left for work thinking it would be a two hour appointment at best. This is the mixed blessing of being freelance. Most of the time I can control my schedule, booking appointments around my training schedule. However, once I’m on site I’m on the clock and therefore it’s difficult for me to walk away to go eat a real meal. All that crap about a work ethic is killing my performance.

I got home at 5:45, walked the poor dogs, and got a phone call while on the walk for another client having a crisis. Got the dogs home, fed them, and left just as the wife was getting home. We had two different dinner invites for tonight, both of which had to be cancelled due to my client call. The truth is, I need the money more than I need the socializing. Until something else happens, that’s the surest way I’ll get to one of my fantasy bikes.

Swam 3 wavy laps, ran 4 miles. Ate lunch at 6pm, dinner at 9. Whoa.

Leave a Reply

