Recovery.

I attempted a HIIT session this morning and had disheartening results. I couldn’t get my heart rate past zone 4.5, on a scale of 1-5, where in a normal HIIT session I alternate between a low zone 3 and zone 5 in the sprints. I must still be recovering from my race on Saturday, which is all the better that I have decided not to do the Olympic distance Malibu tri the day before the Sprint. I just won’t be able to recover that quickly. It turns out that the crash I saw on the bike leg of Saturday’s event was really as bad as I thought. Barbara Warren, an experienced athlete, suffered a broken neck on the downhill of Toro Canyon and is now in critical condition in a Santa Barbara hospital. I sincerely hope she recovers fully. It makes my two days of bike spinning and bodywork much smaller in comparison to having to learn to walk again.

Leave a Reply

