New car, old dog.

I’m now the proud leasee of a new Audi A3 wagon. I got it on the 25th, and I know I’ve been way behind in my blogging, but the headline should tell you why – my little dog tore her right ACL from soft tissue damage as a result of the car accident. Which means even though I finally got a new car, I’ve been overloaded mentally with juggling vet appointments, figuring out our new routine and schedule around a dog that must be immobilized 24/7, carried up and down stairs to use the grass, my client’s ongoing emergencies, and getting a script rewrite done. I know, somewhere the world’s smallest violin is playing just for me.

Here is the state of affairs in the Klatzker-Miller household: a dog in prison, a dog without a tail, and a dead stuffed monkey on the floor.

Locked up, docked, and a dead monkey.

Locked up, docked, and a dead monkey.

 

I’m lucky that my father in law was once an insurance adjuster in a previous life, so when it came time to fill out the paperwork he gave me the right language to use and solid instructions on how to clearly diagram the incident. Between the greyhound and the little dog I’ve put $6800 in vet bills on credit cards. That’s not a lot of money for some people, but for us it’s a whopper. More importantly, with DeSoto being immobilized for 8 weeks any vacation we were intending to take is off the books. One, we can’t leave the dog at a kennel or with a dogsitter, and two, we can’t afford it. If the insurance company pays the bills the money issue goes away, but no one can give us more time. I know, I know: what the hell does this have to do with triathlon training?

Nothing, really. I’ve been getting in unstructured workouts when I can, but I’ve only put 200 miles on the new bike. I’ve been to the pool a few times and even managed some runs here and there. I cleaned out the garage, got the bike trainer all set up and have done Spinervals Ride & Stride workout along with a one hour unstructured sprint interval session. But tomorrow I begin in earnest. Coach Brian has mapped out my December workouts, six days a week, building my base. Good thing I’m staying up past my bedtime to blog about it!

I am now a proud member of the TNS Training team and Coach Brian is actively coaching me through my next season. In fact, he’s coming over tomorrow so we can work on the web site, his newsletter, some new additions to the products section, and then we head to my swimming pool for an hour of coached swimming. My first coached swimming session, to be honest. I’m going to suck a lot of water trying not to look like a dying otter.

TNS Training clients use www.trainingpeaks.com for workout communication with their coaches. Brian goes in and maps my workout calendar, and then I upload the data from my Garmin GPS directly to the Training Peaks site to match the workload to his expectations. For the swim I have to manually enter my data, since I don’t trust the Garmin underwater. But everything else is all digital. If I had the money I’d spring for the Garmin GPS with cadence and power meters to start training with power. Meaning that I’d have a device on the bike measuring wattage output to corresponding heart rate and environmental data yielding a complete view of my workload. But as it is I can use what I have to monitor heart rate and GPS and that’s a great start. If I wanted to buy a new Garmin I should have been wearing it when I got hit by the Jeep.

The great benefit of starting my six day a week schedule is that it brings structure back into my life. Carrying a dog up and down stairs and feeding pills all day is structure, sure, but it isn’t fun. She’s 34 pounds of wriggling, unhappy weight. That’s not training, it’s straining. Getting back on plan is something I’m looking forward to, meeting goals and milestones, not letting circumstances of being hit by the car dictate my life and brain. Getting back to structure is helping me mentally, finding time to finish my rewrite and getting over the hump of ploughing through a new scene for a script I’ve been working on for what seems like years. I get the roof rack put on the car on Thursday so I can drive myself out to Pepperdine and begin my 56 mile efforts on PCH, past all the gnarly Santa Monica traffic. A roof rack means train anywhere, freedom, and fun.

I keep forgetting that I’m signed up to run the City of Angeles 1/2 Marathon this Sunday. I went for a 10 mile run on Friday and my right knee started screaming at mile 7. I was able to run for five minutes, then had to stop for a minute, cycling on and off. I saw my bodyworker today and she tore into my fibula to get some mobility, which was agony and ecstasy all at once. We think it’s a biomechanics issue from my weak ankle. It’s probably time I saw my doctor and got completely checked out. I may run Sunday, and if I do I may take my first DNF if the knee starts acting up. The good news is that I’d be running with a friend at her pace, not trying for a PR. It would be freakish to go bang out a 1/2 marathon with little to no training, a far cry from just a few years ago. But that is who I am now, even with the knee thing. I sign up for races because it feels good to put a little near-term hope back in the calendar.  

It may November but I’m trying to bring a little spring into my winter.

2 responses to “New car, old dog.

  1. Love the stocking though. Seams up the back?

  2. Hang in there Max- If you need any help with the pooches let us know- Ted

Leave a Reply

