Through the glass.

I’ve been absent here for a few reasons. My grandmother passed away a week ago and the night of the memorial service my father collapsed with an acute attack of pancreatitis. I am in Washington, D.C. to be with my family and have been on an emotional roller coaster. I promised my father some time ago that his life was his own and I would not discuss his private matters here. At some point I will figure out where his privacy line is and mine begins because there are things happening here that are changing me. Here’s where endurance racing works as metaphor – you cannot know who you will be at the end of the long road but you know you will be changed forever. It is the darkest piece of one way glass you will ever encounter. From one side all you can see is your own reflection and from the far side all you can see is who you were.

Leave a Reply

